I’m Baa-aack!

Man, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted. I had issues.

First of all, shout-out to all the Billy Petersen fans out there. A very nice fan site linked to my Remains Theater post with the scanned program and I had the most traffic I’ve had so far on this blog in a day and my single most viewed picture on Flickr. Within a couple of days I had almost as many views for “Program p3” as I’d had for “Kitten With Crazy Eyes,” the previous favorite. I would have thought that the pic of Mr. Petersen looking like a punk Chippendales dancer would have been the most popular, but maybe that’s just me.

I learned 3 things about Billy Petersen:

  1. He’s called Billy,
  2. He’s married to a woman named Gina,
  3. “Billy does not use the computer” (I think Grissom wouldn’t either if he didn’t have to use one for work.)

It’s a good looking site with lots of interesting info and photos.

I also found another actor who’s one of those “Oh, that guy” actors. Don Moffett from the program is known as D.W. Moffett and when I was researching this post (oh, so long ago) I realized that I had just seen him on Covert Affairs playing the smarmy Senator. Why yes, I do watch every single lighthearted cop and spy show on USA Network, so?

I don’t have any more pictures of Remains shows. I probably have the programs somewhere, I just couldn’t tell you where. (Theater programs are one of the things I always save, along with greeting cards and ticket stubs.) I can’t even take a picture of the theater now because it’s no longer there. The Goodman Theatre, who occupied the building where the play was performed, moved and The Art Institute built a new Modern Wing there. Here is a picture of a bridge that’s right next to where it used to be.

Grant Park Bridge

This next one won’t make any sense unless I give you a short history of the Goodman Theater and then it probably still won’t make any sense, but you may find it interesting if you’re interested in such things (or you can just skip it and enjoy my fabulous photo, reveling in the mystery).

  • William Owen and Malvina Sawyer Goodman donated funds to the Art Institute to create a theatre, a professional Repertory company and a school of drama as a tribute to their son, Kenneth Sawyer Goodman, a victim of the influenza epidemic of 1918.
  • After the financial failure of the 1930-31 season, the Art Institute closed the professional Repertory company but announced that the school would continue.
  • The idea of a professional Repertory company was resurrected in the 1950s
  • In October 1969, for the first time since 1931, the Repertory produced its first full season of professional theatre on the Goodman Theatre stage.
  • In July 1977, the Repertory company of the Goodman Theatre incorporated as the Chicago Theatre Group, Inc., a not-for-profit corporation separate from the Art Institute of Chicago and the Goodman School of Drama.
  • In September 1975, the trustees of the Art Institute voted to phase out the Goodman School of Drama over a three-year period, citing a $200,000 deficit. No new students were admitted and the school prepared to close.
  • DePaul University agreed to give the school a new home. On July 1, 1978, the Goodman School of Drama became the ninth college of DePaul University. At DePaul, the Goodman School of Drama (renamed The Theatre School at DePaul University in 1985) moved into the former St. Vincent’s Elementary School on North Kenmore Avenue as its primary classroom and office building.

This is St. Vincent’s Elementary:

Otherwise known as my grade school

Ok, these pictures don’t really have much of anything to do with the subject at hand, but I said I’d always have at least one of my photos in every post and you work with what you’ve got. Besides, I really like them.

(The history of the Goodman Theatre is from the DePaul University website)

This entry was posted in Architecture, Theater and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

